Friday, September 23, 2005

The One on Friday the 23rd

Tory is getting promoted. I'm kinda happy for him. He's not getting a pay raise, something that he is quick to point out to me, but he is gonna be getting more responsibilities, which means that he should be up in line soon for some promotion. Not that this would affect me as an MIT, but if Tory gets promoted, that means that Joe will probably get that too, if in responsibilities and nothing more since he is also quick to point out that he is MIT, which means that I would be too. Thats kinda heading in the right direction.

The store was thrashed yesterday. Jenna said they were going to start having me close some nights next week by myself, and I think the very first time I do it is going to be the night before my DM does her weekly visits... Of all the luck I have...

Thursday, September 22, 2005

The One on Thursday the 22nd

I love hooking my friends up with my discounts. It gives me a warm fuzzy feeling...

I'm sorry I got the wrong coloured shirt... I hope you like the white one.

I asked Tory to critique me yesterday since he was the one in the best position to do it since I work with both him and Joe the most, and Tory is higher ranked than Joe, and I think more professional abt his job. And he said he thought I was doing pretty well, but I did best when I was left on the floor by myself. He said that I seemed to be more laxed when the other managers were around, and that was something that I didn't even realise I did. I think he felt kinda bad when he told me that, but I told him not to worry about it because I wanted to know. At least now I know what to work on.

I really want to go to this concert on Saturday. I hope MaryKay (store manager at VS) gets back to me about whether she'll let Edith (new girl whom I have never met before but was a darling cause she was willing to help me out) cover my shift or not. I can see from a scheduling POV why it would be important for her to approve the schedule, but it really bites cause I have to wait or keep following up on it.

I haven't finished "Mirror Mirror" yet cause I haven't been reading at lunch break recently. I'm always having dinner appointments (which I absolutely love like nothing else in the world ) or I'm shopping for people so I don't have time anyway... not that I'm complaining, but I was just thinking abt it and it occurred to me that I don't usually take this long to finish a book....

Cheerios!!!

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

The One on Wednesday the 21st

So its been a almost a week since my last blog, and I thought I would evaluate Bev's comment that my blog has now shifted from school to work... that kinda bites when I think abt it. I mean, I would so much rather be in school.... Oh, and Bev, its 30%

Anyway... I didn't end up quitting VS cause I was talking with the store manager and she said that she could schedule me once every two weeks and that was a pretty nice schedule cause that means I won't be working all the time, which means I won't be completely burnt out, and it also means that I still get my discount . Yes, I know... I'm easy to please..... sometimes...

I haven't really been preparing for grad school like I should have been, like I haven't registered to take any of the exams, and I haven't started studying for anything. I really still want to pursue the acting bit but I don't have time for anything right now and I feel like I want to crawl in a hole with shame on how badly I've been pursueing my dream...

Poo...

I got a server set up for me. Thanks B! Can't wait to try my CSS bit.

Thursday, September 15, 2005

The One on Thursday the 15th

Yesterday was a disaster. When I got to Hollister, Tory was already there and he seemed to be really busy and since he was the one running around giving everyone projects, I assumed that he was floor supervising, not that there really was anyone to floor supervise since we only had 3 kids - 1 in each front room and 1 in the fitting room. Joe was helping Ali(son) redline stuff and so I helped with Register and I was folding stuff in the lounge too. There was also Orientation yesterday, which Tory took care off. But so here I am, minding the register and folding clothes, and then Tory leaves for Orientation, and I assumed he told Joe what was going on since Joe is of a slightly higher rank than me (we're both MITs, but Joe has been a brand rep before, and he also has been in the programme longer, which basically means that he is practically a manager already and is only MIT in name. He always claims that he is a MIT, but everyone treats him as a full fledged manager already). After Tory has been gone for like 15 mins, Joe turns to me and asks if I'm floor supervising, and I look at him weird and I said no, and then he said he's not cause he's redlining a stack of clothes. And so all of a sudden, I'm floor supervising. It is also 4.30pm and I have 3 kids who were suppose to be done at 4, and the 3 kids I was suppose to get at 3 did not show up. And this whole time, I thought Tory had it under control and so I'm freaking out. I went to track him down at Orientation and I asked him if he had called anyone, and he said he didn't, and he looked shocked when I told him the 3 o'clocks didn't come. And so now I had to run my butt back to the office and start calling everyone who was on-call. We had already told them that they didn't need to come, and so if they had appointments and stuff, we couldn't do anything about it. So I started just randomly calling kids from our associate listing to see if they could come into work. I got 2 kids to come in, and one said he would come later to help us close. I thought it was super sweet of them because they were not even scheduled and they came when we needed help.

Long story short, I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have been so stressful if I had been more on top of things. I mean, I could have started calling people earlier if I knew that we had no-shows. I guess it all boils down to me not assuming what is going on and actually getting the facts. I seem to floor supervise alot now, which is great... when I'm on top of things...

On a good note, my DM had talked to HR and basically what needs to happen for Hollister to apply a work visa for me is that the RM, which is my DM's boss, has to interview me, see what my intentions are, and then they are going to start applying for the visa for me. They were quick to tell me that it is not a gaurantee, but at least the process would have started. The DM and the RM would be travelling around the different stores in about 3 weeks, which means the interview us gonna be soon since time seems to be flying by so quickly lately. I don't want time to go so fast... don't want it to move at all...

Tuesday, September 13, 2005

The One on Tuesday the 13th

Bleh.

Chocolate covered apples are good.

Bath and Body has a funky peppermint lipbalm gloss something. I want.

Wonder where I'll get transferred if I get promoted at Hollister.

Monday, September 12, 2005

The One on Monday the 12th

So the weekend was good. I spent most of Sunday sleeping and I amazed myself that I could sleep so much, but it was so awesome to be so lazy.

Work was alright this weekend. I'm turning in my 2 week notice at Victoria's Secret, so hopefully that means that I will have more time to relax and stuff... actually, I'll probably only do that on Saturday night. On Tuesday night I somehow foresee myself spending more time at Agel getting my hours in...

Anyway... nothing much else happened this weekend. My baby brother got baptised, but I've been a complete ass and I haven't called home yet. I'd make excuses at this point about how I have no time and that I'm so damn lazy when I do have time, but I really can't cause it was my baby brother's special day so I'm just an ass.

Oh... here's something exciting that happened... two things actually now that I think about it... I got a pumice stone, which means I can now scrub my feet raw, and one of my Hollister shirts got ruined. Somehow, bleach got into the wash and my green shirt is now orange and green. And its bad enough that you can totally see that the shirt had a bleach encounter so I have no guts to wear it to work now. Good thing I have 6 Hollister tops so though that one is destroyed, I still have something to wear everyday I work...

I'm trying to get promoted and I want to get sent to a GM/Elite store, and the places that I'm hoping to go to are Cali and HI. Vegas seems to be a more viable option for me cause I know there are new stores opening there, but I want to go to open markets like HI cause I already know that groundwork has been done and all I have to do is make sure I don't burn the store down. I hope I can get promoted soon. I've already mentioned to my DM that I wanna go places so I hope she considers me...

I watched "Constantine" yesterday. Now that I think about it, it sounds sacreligious... I think I spelt that wrong... but I like the idea of the movie, so I give it a thumbs up, and I hope I don't go to hell for it.

In "Mirror Mirror," one of the phrases that Bianca uses is "Don't leave me." And I got to thinking about it. She says that because she doesn't want her father to leave her, which he does because he's kinda the mayor of the city and he leaves on trips to smooth over any politcal issues that might involve his little town. You can't say that Bianca is selfish asking her father to stay because she is in no position to follow him. If she can follow him on his trips, then she would be selfish to say, "Don't leave me." She also loves him very much and its understandable that she wants him around since when he is home, she is around him constantly. Yet at the same time, you cannot say her father is selfish because even though he is in a position to stay with Bianca, he has to leave for the greater good. By leaving her and making her "suffer" for that period of absence, he helps not only himself and Bianca, but the entire town too. It sucks when there is no black and white in the world. Please don't ask my why I am analyzing this... I know I'm weird.

Friday, September 09, 2005

The One on Friday the 9th

I got trained by another totally amazing trainer yesterday afternoon. Her name is Beth and she is the impact manager at the Provo store. Our store borrowed her for 2 weeks because we had to run updates and Ali(son) was on vacation. I didn't really get to talk to her the 1st day she was here. On the second day, she and Joe were walking through the store detailing so I was floor supervising, and when the kids were doing their thing and Joe and Beth were done, I asked her if she could explain some of the write ups for me. She also showed me visuals, and she gave me a ton of advise about how to keep the store in one piece. I didn't realise how CRAPPY our store looked until I was done talking to her. Now I want to cry cause I think it looks so bad. I close with Jenna tonight, and she is probably going to get the kids to fill. I think I'm going to have them work on detailing and I'll do a walk around the store for visuals.

OK, not that any of that had to make sense to you, I know I was using Hollister lingo there. But anyway, I kinda didn't really like Joe in the beginning, but now that I've closed with him for one night, I like him so much more. Now that I know Beth is the one who trained him, I can see where he gets his intensity from. I mean, he really knows a ton more than I do so I give him kudoes for that. And I know I spelt that wrong but that is a word I can only say, and not really spell.

The day before yesterday, Me and Tory went up to the University of Utah campus to go recruiting. It was the first time I had ever walked around their campus. It is FREAKIN HUGE!!!! I couldn't believe how big it is. I kinda felt bad for Tory cause I don't think I was very good company. I was too busy trying not to look like I was massively out of shape. And I was starving, so I was whining about food like every 5 mins. It wasn't the most successful thing to happen to us. I mean, the campus was dead cause it was almost 5pm. Also, most of the kids there are still going to school and the recruits we were looking for were ideally seniors in the last semester. So Tory approached one girl, and I approached another girl. And then we went to the career services office to inquire about their career fair.

(I just realised when I was done typing my enty that this section here is like a research paper, so feel free to gloss over it if you don't want to read my musings and dissectings of books )

Anyhow... "Mirror Mirror" is interesting. I'm starting to realise that the author always incorporates some political theme into his novels. Like in "Wicked" there was the politics in the land of Oz between the different rulers and the different races of people like the Quadlings and the Animals. In "Confessions," there was the politics between the wealthy merchant families, like Cinderella's father and the other wealthy merchants, and we can see how Iris' mother tried to play the right cards so that her family would be powerful. And now in "Mirror Mirror," again we see that there is the politics of the ruling classes of the land, and how Snow White (her name is Bianca for the beginning of the book) and her father were being manipulated by them.

The thing about the use of politics is that it is not subtle. It always seems to be a central motivation in the book. If you think about how these books are the same, and how they differ from the original fairy tales, it is really nicely woven in because the fairy tales do not have much of a political theme to it. There are the themes of love and hate, and then of magic that are interwoven to create timeless classics, yet almost all the characters in Macguire's novels seem to act because of the political forces around them. And still, we are talking about the same story.

There is still one more of Macguire's books that I have not read. "Son of Witch" comes out in October so I obviously haven't read it yet. But I haven't read "Lost" and I can't even fanthom which classic this is from so I'm a little leary about reading it, but I think when I'm done with "Mirror Mirror," I'll start reading that one cause I'm curious now...

OK, so that was my English Major coming out... MAN I MISS IT!!!!!

Tuesday, September 06, 2005

The One on Tuesday the 6th

The labor day holiday was just yesterday, and by some fantastic stoke of luck, I didn't have to work Sunday and Monday, which means I actually had two days of almost no responsibilities and I could sleep in and have fun!

I had dinner at my cousin's on Sunday. Mike, one of my friends who just came back from his mission to Russia, and who is a really really good friend of my cousin, Charlie, and his wife, CL, was also there. We had dinner and then we talked, and then we played Risk when the baby was asleep. I sucked at it. I won one game, but that was because CL was not aggressive in completing her mission. I stayed there till way late. I wanted to leave sooner, but everyone was having such a good time that I would have been a party pooper. I finally left at like 3am though. And when I left, Charlie checked up on me again and told me that him, Mike and CL were playing one more round of Risk.

On Monday I had lunch with the family that housed me the first few days I was in UT. I'm really homesick for food now cause CL was cooking Chinese food, and the family was cooking Chinese food too. And they made home-made Chinese food. None of the buying Chinese food thing, so I really enjoyed it. When lunch was over I played Dominoes with them. It was fun. I never knew how to play Dominoes before that and I didn't think it would be that enjoyable.

Anyway, that was my fun weekend. I'm thinking of turning in my two weeks at VS. I love working there. I really, do. But I think now is not the right time for me. Between Hollister and Agel I'm so stretched out for time, and its gonna get worse when Agel moves their office to Provo. I don't want to do it, but I think its the best thing to do.

Friday, September 02, 2005

The One on Friday the 2nd

Hollister was OK today. i just found out that there will be a new MIT. He's been in the programme a little longer than me, but before that he was also a brand rep for like 7 mths so he has a ton more experience than I do. It was really slow yesterday so I thought I'd spend some time looking through paperwork, like the calculations for when we open and stuff. Natalie, the DM was there and she didn't really say anything to me, but Brianne seemed a little snappy with me yesterday. She said I was not suppose to be in the office. Apparantly, I was spending too much time there. Joe, the other MIT, will probably get promoted first since he's already at the stage where he can look after the store by himself, and I am not there yet. Oh well.

I didn't realise Monday is labour day. My schedule at Hollister is gonna be screwed up. If its not Hollisters, than its Victoria's Secret that is gonna be screwed up. Bummer.

I'm gonna start reading my new book today, "Mirror Mirror."



Currently Reading
Mirror Mirror : A Novel
By Gregory Maguire
see related

Thursday, September 01, 2005

The One on Thursday the 1st

I closed all by myself at Hollister yesterday. I wasn't along in the store, but my trainer let me do everything myself. She was out with the other kids straightening out the rooms and I was doing all the closing procedures myself... so I was kinda closing all myself. I'll know today if I screwed up or not cause the opening manager can tell me that.

It was really dead at work yesterday too. Like it was slow, and no one had any energy, and I was almost hating being there. I had to do form refreshes and that basically means I go around with a list of what every form should be wearing, and what sizes they should be weaing, and making sure they all have the right size clothes on. I wanted to die. It was so boring, and I can't believe it is so hard trying to get clothes off a form, esp the belts. I was trying to take this belt off one of the forms cause he was wearing the wrong on, and I had to take the thing off the table, put it on the floor, and really lean into the form to take it off. The bad part was that it was a guy dummy, and that his belt was right above his crotch, and I happened to be right on top of it with my face. One of the brand reps who was working in the room didn't see what I was doing because he was folding a pile of shirts and size stickering them, and then he turned around and saw me and the form, and he started busting out laughing and the whole store knows now...

For some reason that sounded alot funnier in my head...

Wednesday, August 31, 2005

The One on Wednesday the 31th

As a quickie note, I'm convinced I could so totally be a manager. I know thats like the weirdest out of nowhere thing to say right now, but here is what sparked the thought... I was closing up at VS yesterday and the store manager asks me what other jobs I have, so I tell her about Agel and Hollister. And she does the wide eyed OMG look like everyone gives me when I tell them that cause I know I'm insane... but then she asks if I have ever considered working management at VS. And I said yes, but I thought I had to work my way up. Kinda like Hollister where you hire your own instead of going to outside people. And she said, no, not really. So here I am thinking - Why is it that I can get a management position every where else? I'm obviously good enough to be considered.

Bless and curse the power of Nepotism.. and I probably spelt that wrong, but I don't really have the time to look for the right spelling right now cause I am really super busy at work. But I didn't want to lose this train of though, which is why I'm taking time to blog it down.

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

The One on Tuesday the 30th

So begins another crazy work week. It was dead at Hollister yesterday. The "Back to School" crowd is over and all the High Schools are back in sessions again. Abercrombie kicked out butt because all the college kids were coming back... but no matter, we beat them all last week. I did really well at closing today. Tory let me do it for the most part and he was just watching to see that I got it right. He even let me figure out the hours, which is one of the hardest parts of closing, but I got it. He double checked my numbers and he had 1 hour more than me, but that was OK. Not that any of this makes any sense to you, but I'm sure when I look back at this many years later, I'll laugh... so lets just say its more for my benefit at this point.

I finished reading "Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister" yesterday too. I didn't like it as much as I liked "Wicked." The story of Cinderella seemed to have changed. It also seemed a more realistic version. There was no magic or any such thing in the story. I liked it, but I thought "Wicked" filled in the gaps for the "Wizard of Oz" better than "Confessions" did for "Cinderella."

Regardless, once I have the energy, I'll start reading "Mirror Mirror." "Son of the Witch" is also coming out soon so that is kinda exciting.

My strategy guides arrived today. FUN!!!

Friday, August 26, 2005

The One on Friday the 26th

Wednesday night was insane. I was at Hollister's till 4 in the morning. I guess that makes it Thursday then... anyway, the District Manager for the store was coming down and Brianne (my trainer for the day) wanted the store to look good because it has been completely trashed lately. A couple of the kids stayed till 3, but I couldn't leave Brianne alone in the store so we both stayed back till 4. The DM's visit was interesting... in the sense that the Store Manager, who almost never does anything was actually walking around the store and working. I've never seen her step outside the office and walk around and stuff before. Anyway, the DM felt really bad that I had stayed so late and she told me that it should NEVER happen again, which is a little more reassuring. I know now how to avoid another scenario like that when its my turn to manage.

I also got a chance to floor supervise, more by accident then by actual assignment. Brianne left for lunch, the DM had to leave because she had a flight to catch, and so the store manager retreated back to the office, never to be seen again until it was time for her to go... and even then I don't remember seeing her leave... anyway, I was actually in one of the rooms helping out and then I realised that everyone was gone, so I had to run around and figure out who was where and where to put people when they came in, and I did that for 2 hours until Brianne came back. It was great though. I think I did pretty good considering the fact that everyone was still in the same place I had zoned them into when I came back from lunch. I'm getting the closing procedures down alot better now, like I almost know exactly what I need to do everynight. Tonight I close with the store manager... that will be interesting.

I'm also spending so much money on clothes now cause I don't have any Hollister-ish kinda tops. You don't have to wear Hollister clothes, but they have to look like they come from there, and most of all my shirts have logos and stuff all over the shirt. The thing is, I always just pick a size, and then I buy it, and then I go home and try it. Almost everytime I do that, the size is wrong and I have to go back and return it.

I haven't been to VS for a while now. Not like I have time to do that anyway, considering the fact that I'm at work from 7am to midnight. I have to stop by tomorrow though... you know.. check the schedule... see if I'm fired yet... that sorta thing...

Wednesday, August 24, 2005

The One on Monday the 29th

I had such a good weekend! It was so relaxing to have a day and a half to do whatever I want instead of working. I got off on Saturday at 6.30ish and I went to have dinner with my room mate at one of the best Chinese restaurants around here. And then we went to see "Brothers Grimm." I haven't even seen previews for it. Only heard about it. And so I didn't know what to expect. It was still great though. Heath Ledger, and I know I spelt that wrong, was flipping aewsome. How do I know? Because I didn't recognise him at all. Like not until the next day, when I was talking about the movie with my room mate, and she said that the guy from "Knight's Tale" was great and I was like the guy from "Knight's Tale?" Who was that? And she said it was the younger brother, and then I went to look at the poster again and I recognised him this time, and I was like WOW... he is so versatile!!! Anyway, I give thumbs up to the movie. I won't recommend it though unless you are a fantasy buff, and also because it seems more kiddie, which is the kind of movie that appeals to me, but I don't know about anyone else.

I also went to check with VS about my schedule. I don't think they are very pleased with me cause I missed out on work all of last week. One co-manager said I would get written up, but I don't know if she is serious or just mad/stressed, but in any case, I didn't get fired, and I've told them that I can only work Tues and Fris, and the store manager (she is the head honcho of all the managers) said that was fine. So I will be pretty much working non-stop until Sunday. At least I get one day's break.

My room mate is interested in getting her band professionally started. I think they could do it. I think its just hard to envision actual success at this point because there is nothing, but she and one other bandmember (HY) is really interested in it, and they are seriously working on it. They just need to get their third member (YX) more involved into it because she is the one that is going to be lead singer. I think it would be cool if they made it big. At least I can say "I know them." Oh, and I can also sell their memorabilia on eBay and make lots of money.. hahaha...

My little brother is gonna be baptised soon. I need to find an awesome present for him.

Almost done with my book. Its great!



Currently Reading
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister : A Novel
By Gregory Maguire
see related

The One on Wednesday the 24th

Well, my dad just left this morning for the airport. It was a short trip, but I hope he got lots of stuff done. I was going to see him off at the hotel but I set my alarm too early and I fell asleep again and didn't wake up until he left.

Hollisters was interesting. There are so many aspects of it that I swear are just like VS. I think I'm picking on as fast as I am because of what I've learnt at VS. I guess its a good sign that I really am learning something. I can already see the difference in VS and Hollisters, and Agel too. In VS and Agel, you actually do the work. At Hollisters, you delegate the work to other people. It is certainly refreshing to be learning the finer points of delegation. Not that this would make any sence to you, but Hollisters has 5 rooms, Bettys 1 and 2, Dudes 1 and 2, and the lounge. Bettys 1 always has at least 2 people, Dudes 1 has a person, the lounge needs at least 2, and each of the back rooms has 1 each... Through all the mambo jumbo, it basically means that you need to keep your 5 rooms covered, make sure the fitting rooms are manned, that go-backs are getting done, and you need to make sure that when people go on break things are still getting done... anyway... its a completely different aspect of what I've been learning so far. I think its flippin' awesome.

I'm also tired like nothing. I don't think I've had enough sleep since Sunday. I'm so tired that when I was getting dressed this morning, I got the wrong top on. I mean, when you go to work, you need a little dressy... I got a worn out, "this is what I wear when I know I'm going to get dirty," Pooh Bear shirt.

How sad is that??????



Currently Reading
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister: A Novel
By Gregory Maguire
see related

Monday, August 22, 2005

The One on Monday the 22nd

Well, I've been working hard all weekend cause of a screwup in the schedule at VS. I think I'm doing really well, like I think the management there likes me... don't know how much they'll like me after this week since I am not showing up all week long. Pooey.

My Dad is coming today for work. I'm so glad I don't work tomorrow so I can at least spend some time with him. He's only going to be here 2 nights, and today is my first day at Hollisters and I don't get done till 11pm so I know I won't have time to spend with him at all. I wonder what he'll say when he sees me with red hair... its toned down alot, like the red keeps washing out everytime I shower. Its still unmistakenly red, but its not as outstanding as it was when I first blogged that I had red hair.

I got 2 new books over the weekend - "Confessions of an Ugle Stepsister," and "Mirror Mirror." The guy who wrote "Wicked" wrote these and they were on sale at Costco so I got it. Can't wait to start reading it.

Yeah... so today is going to be my first day at Hollisters... I'm sure there will be lots of folding, but at least it will have more material than the stuff that I'm folding at VS. Tell you more about it later.

Friday, August 19, 2005

The One on Friday the 19th ... part 2

I'M SO TIRED..........

wanna sleep.........

The One on Friday the 19th

OK, so the story of my red hair. I had taken a long late afternoon nap, and what basically means is that by the time bedtime was approaching, I was no where near anywhere tired like I was suppose to be. So I went to get some hair colour and it was red, but I really didn't think it would stay in my hair very long... but anyway, I asked my room mate to help me colour my hair, and she was completely reluctant cause she was afraid that she might screw it up, but it turned out completely awesome. I tried to put a pic of me in red hair on the profile. I don't have a better one. And would you believe it is still washing out. Like I'm afraid to wear anything white when my hair is wet cause red is going to get on it. The week is almost over now and its been awesome. I mean, everyone who has seen it says that it looks amazing, and I'm getting compliments from complete strangers when I work at VS.

Also, my room mate got another little baby, Button. She got one the 1st week of August and she was being a Florence Nightingale to it. I thought she was really sweet. But the little dear was weak to begin with, and didn't do so well despite everything that my room mate tried. And we finally brought it back to the store where there was an "expert" (you could totally tell he loves animals) and he tried to nurse the darling, but it didn't work either and the darling died a week after we got it. My room mate was completely upset and we keep looking into pet stores when we have time. She finally got another one just this last Tuesday. It was a runt, just like Zipper and just about as small. But its amazing how lively this little fellow is. I called him Button because I was trying to think of how she came up with the name Zipper, and when I think of apparel accessories that relate to a Zipper, I could only think of Button. Its a temporary nickname though cause she cannot stand calling it Button. She completely ADORES Button. Its so sweet.

Monday, August 15, 2005

The One of Monday the 15th

I HAVE RED HAIR!!!!

Its amazing. I have to tell you all about it, but I'm at work right now so I'll ttyl!!

Cheerios!!!

Sunday, August 14, 2005

The One on Sunday the 14th

I HAVE RED HAIR!!!!

Its amazing. I have to tell you all about it, but I'm at work right now so I'll ttyl!!

Cheerios!!!

Saturday, August 13, 2005

The One on Saturday the 13th

I haven't blogged since Tuesday.. wow... I am such a slacker, but its not like you're all missing anything. I wake up, I go to work, I go to lunch, I go back to work, I grab a snack, I go to work, I go home and eat, play games and shower, and I sleep. All in all, thats all I have been doing.

Victoria Secret is getting slightly better I think. It really sucks in the beginning because you know NOTHING!!!! But such is the life of a new job. What makes it worse is that no matter how much people tell you what to do, or no matter how much you look around, or browse around the website, you are not going to really do well until you suck it up and talk to the guest and wing it. I've been working closing all week and that usually means that I arrange the clothes and work at the register. Today I did an earlier shift so that meant that I actually had to help people find stuff etc. It being the weekend and all, ALOT of people came in. But I think I'm getting better. My manager was happy with me today cause I was helping a little girl get her first bra and I found her the "perfect" one after lots of trail and error, and her aunt who had brought her to the store in the first place was so happy that she went to the manager and gushed to her about how thrilled she was with my help, and so my manager was thrilled with me cause I was not screwing up, which is always a good thing.

My feet have been killing me. I can't stand non-stop on heels for more than 3 hours without doing some serious damage to them. Usually when I close I'm on my feet for about 3 hours, and I can close up wearing slippers. But since I was working the day shift today... no such luck. I bought a pair of shoes at the gateway today. They are platformed and the heel is slightly angled, but nothing as extreme as my 2.5 inch heels so I'm sure it will work out alot better for work.

See... all I talk about is work now.. how BORING can I possibly be????

I'm going to play games now.. maybe I'll have more fun stuff happening to me tmr!!!

Tuesday, August 09, 2005

The One on Tuesday the 9th

Lets see... I was superbly happy yesterday.. and then I felt superbly dumb... and then I freaked out to my room mate, and then I called my Mum and freaked out at her, and then she told me to calm down and she got my Dad on the phone, and he didn't tell me what an idiothead I was but was really nice and patient and gave good albeit scary advise. So I tried to execute that advise today, and it didn't work. So I'm going to try again tmr.

Anyway, VS... First day of work was, of course, orientation. We watched videos, filled out paperwork, took a tour of the store, and got some tips on being on the floor. That was only day one, and needless to say, as much as that information was useful, it was almost completely useless in helping me on my first day on the floor. Of course the first thing they made me learn was how to work the register. And I at least got that part figured out. I also know the whole "Do you want to put this on your Angels card" spiel, but I haven't learnt how to do voids and returns, and I really wanna learn that so I might get a manager to show me next time I'm there. I was pretty useless anywhere else and so I just stuck to the register, and arranging/straightening out the clothes. The hardest part of the straightening up was the panty tables. OMG they are soooo time consuming cause you have to check the size on everyone of them when one style gets messed up, and it didn't help that they all had sensors which meant stacking it was also really hard.

I also learnt today that when you are going to be standing for at least 4 hours, you do not want to be in heels because when the four hours are over, you cannot walk without limping. I'm gonna bring slippers to change to when the store is closed next time. When they closed the doors, everyone was peeling off the jacket and kicking their shoes off. I got the jacket part, because it can get pretty darn hot, but I finally understand the shoes bit. You would think that my experience with heels at the Gateway at PCC would have taught me a lesson. Apparantly, as we can see from day 2 at Victoria's Secret, Alexis has not learnt that lesson. Either that or she needs CONSTANT reminding.

Anyway, thats my very interesting beginning of the week. I can't believe I am working as much as I am, and the sad part is, I believe I can spend as fast as I earn. Anyway, my feet are killing me, and the chicken I am baking smells superb, and so I am going to eat, play Final Fantasy X2, take a shower and I'll see you all tmr.

Cheerios!!!



Currently Gaming
Final Fantasy X-2
By SquareSoft
see related

Monday, August 08, 2005

The One on Sunday the 7th

Well... lets see... I start working at Victoria's Secret part time on Monday, and I am on the schedule regularly at least 3 times a week, and I'm on call the other times... I work almost all day Saturday... which would suck so I'm hoping I will not have to work both the morning and evening shift on Saturday... and I also had to buy a black dress jacket for work because its part of the dresscode. I really wish I didn't have to spend the $120 but I didn't really have a choice. I'm consoling myself with that fact that I will be able to use the jacket for other occassions as well, not just at Victoria's Secret.

"Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire" comes out in the theatre this November. In honour of me being a fan of Harry Potter, I went to get a copy of the "Goblet of Fire" from Walmart and I'm reading it again. I only got the little paperback version because I'm waiting for the entire series to be done, and then I'm getting the Collector's Edition of all the books... Vain.. I know...

I can't wait to finish FFX2. I might have to start it all over again cause I wanna complete it 100%. And when that is done, I wanna play "Kingdom Hearts" cause there is already a sequal to it on Gameboy, and the PS2 sequal is also coming out in November...

All the good stuff comes out in November...

I'm gonna shower now... Laters!!!



Currently Reading
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling))
By J.K. Rowling
see related

Friday, August 05, 2005

The One on Friday the 5th

I just watched "The Island." I can safely say that it is SO MUCH BETTER than I thought it would be. All in all, I give a thumbs up. And if I were a movie critic, which means I would have seen it on opening night... which I didn't... which means I'm not a movie critic... anyway... IF I were a movie critic, I would say to go watch it. Scarlet is sooooo pretty. And I will say that Ewan is a good actor, but it is still Johnny Depp that is my acting "hero," if one can even call it that... Ewan can sing though, and I don't think that is one of Johnny's talents since I have never seen him sing in a movie... but Johnny is just soooo flexible...

Yeah, ok.. so that is me ranting about acting... anyway, I was suppose to go for my orientation today at VS, but there were short handed so my trainer has to work the floor instead of taking time out to train me. I start Monday... I'm starting to get nervous now cause she told me that I was on the schedule already, and though I'm excited, I'm hoping that they didn't schedule me to work like everyday...

There's a sales competition... sorta... at work. We have a new product coming up and we are going to see who can make the most sales. I take it that is management's way of making us happy and motivating us to work... strange thing is, I'm actually interested in this. I mean, I feel the PCC Reservations vibe that I use to have where I actally try to make the sales. I don't know why... and I don't really do anything except personalise an email to the 600++ distrubutors that were "assigned" to me, but at least I'm trying to get through the emails. I usually don't even get through a quarter of the stack, and this time I am almost done. I'm scaring myself.

I hate that I have to have a visa to remain in the US. It is such a handicap.

I'm going to play Final Fantasy now.

Thursday, August 04, 2005

The One on Thursday the 4th

I haven't really been that detailed in my blog recently.. oh well... here's something mundane that I don't mind sharing with the general public... so everyone knows that I'm an English major. Cole, one of the Doctors at my work came over and started asking me what I would like to see on the back of the FIT packaging, and I told him that I thought it should contain more instructions pertaining to the actual use of the product, and not give a whole company review, and he kinda nodded, and then he left the packet of FIT sitting on my desk, and he said it was a reminder so that if I remembered anything, I could jot it down and hand it to him. And the packet was sitting there for a while, and then I couldn't stand it anymore so I wrote a little blurp on what I thought should be on the back of the packet. This whole incident reminded me of college when we had assignments due, and the assignment would hang over my head until I couldn't stand it anymore, and I would do it just so that I wouldn't have to think about it anymore... hmm... now that I think abt it... I wonder if I was always like that...

OK.. so that was mundance, but I am going for my Hollisters interview today. I'm SO nervous... hope I get it. Cross my fingers XX.

Wednesday, August 03, 2005

The One on Tuesday the 2nd

Wednesday, August 03, 2005

The week has been exciting so far.

1. I got a part time job at Victoria's Secret. I start orientation on Friday.
2. My interview at Hollisters is this Thursday
3. My parents got me goodies from China
4. My strategy guide arrived

Pretty cool huh.



Currently Gaming
Final Fantasy X-2
By SquareSoft
see related

Saturday, July 30, 2005

The One on Saturday the 30th

The interview was ok. I really don't know what to expect cause I still have to go through the district manager and she has the final say, so I won't know if I get the job or not until I go through her. I also got a call from Victoria's Secret for the group interview. I only applied for a part time position, and I don't know if they are hiring for the evenings, but I think I'll go for the interview anyway and see what happens.

I also rented "Tarzan II" and "Secret Window" from my apartment's leasing office today. Those shows should be good.

Cheerios!!!



Currently Watching
Tarzan II
see related

Friday, July 29, 2005

The One on Friday the 29th

Wow.. today was awesome. Work was alright. I've gotten used to the fact that I might possibly be in an environment which is not condusive for excelling. I still work hard. I make sure shipping is as smooth as possible. And that credits are submitted in. I still answer calls and try to make sales when I can. But thats besides the point.

Tomorrow is my big day. I still have good vibes about the interview and I hope that I do well in that. I went down to the Gateway mall again and I got a whole outfit from the store that I'm interviewing with. I met the assistant manager that I talked to on Tuesday and he still remembers my name, which seems to be a sincere sign since if he wasn't serious, he probably won't remember me... anyway, I got a whole outfit from the store, and then I had a huge dinner at Applebees. I feel really fat now, but it was such a wonderful wonderful treat. And then I went to Victoria's Secret cause I wanted to use the July coupon that I had from the store. By the time I was done everything was starting to close up so I started heading home, but it was still great. I think I've been to that mall like 6 times already and this was one of the best trips there.

Cheerios!!!!!



Currently Gaming
Final Fantasy X-2
By SquareSoft
see related

Thursday, July 28, 2005

The One on Thursday the 28th

Well... work was busy today... but then again, I'm aways busy at work. I take care of the shipping and there was a bunch of codes that I had to learn today so that I could send out these couple of packages that had to be overnighted. That was something new that I learnt.

I haven't really done anything else. I ordered the strategy guide for FFX2 and I'm waiting for that to come in.

I can't wait till the weekend. Esp Sat when I go for that interview. Cross my fingers and hope I do well...



Currently Reading
The Memoirs of Cleopatra: A Novel
By Margaret George
see related

Wednesday, July 27, 2005

The One on Wednesday the 27th

This is the gaming freak in me... I have to start FFX2 all over again cause I wanna complete the game at 100%. Good thing I only finished 3 missions so far so its not that bad for me to start over. I'm kinda getting the hang of it. The dresspheres take some getting use to... that and the real time play...

Anyway, work was normal today. I was feeling a little sick again towards the end of the day, like my head was spinning and I was dizzy and stuff. It was minor though, and I manage to drive home in 1 piece. I talked to my parents today and brought up the possibility that I might change jobs. They were both surprisingly supportive. I mean, I expected my mum to be, but I didn't think my dad would, and he was, which was nice.

Mike called me today, which was out of the blue and took me completely by surprise. I didn't know he had got back from his mission already, let alone drive all the way down from Washington state to Utah just to visit friends. It was good catching up with him on the phone. I wanna say that its the same Mike I knew when he left, and sometimes when he talks it really comes across that way, but I'm sure he's changed.

Oh well.. needa shower and then ZZZ... I was a dumb butt and read the clock wrong this morning. I thought it was 7.45am, when it was really 6.45, so I lost an hour of precious lazy time... needa make up for that... lol...

Cheerios!!!



Currently Reading
The Cobra & The Concubine (Leisure Historical Romance)
By Bonnie Vanak
see related

The One on Tuesday the 26th

Well... my life is in a whirlwind of sorts. I suppose most of it is my own doing. I kinda don't know what I want to do job wise now... I mean for practical purposes. I still intend to be a professional drama queen... I mean, I started out looking for a second job, and now I don't know if I wanna change jobs... what a headache... oh well... I still don't have the offer yet, but my interview is on Saturday so we'll know then...

For all the Neopians, I got a Hissi today I was excited. I always wanted one... kinda... anyway, its a green Hissi called FeatherIss. I know I could have been slightly more creative with the name, but its OK.. Its suppose to be pronounced as one word, I just putt the I there cause I have this thing with sticking 2 words together... that and I hope it somehow doesn't make him look gay.

Cheerios!!!



Currently Gaming
Final Fantasy X-2
By SquareSoft
see related

Monday, July 25, 2005

The One on Monday the 25th

Sometimes I wonder why I put so much stock in working so hard. I think I'm getting to that point where I put so much effort into working that I lose sight of the fact that I am planning to go back to school.

Going for another round of interviews tomorrow... man... I really don't think anything will happen from it... and on one hand I'm completely bummed, and on the other hand I'm glad cause I tried, but it didn't work, which means I have more time to myself... Oh well... the wonderful joys of being graduated.

Cheerios!!!



Currently Gaming
Hunter: The Reckoning--Wayward
By Vivendi Universal Games
see related

Sunday, July 24, 2005

The One on Saturday the 23rd

Lets see... which do I like better "Da Vinci Code," or "Angels and Demons"? I liked all the details about the paintings in "Da Vinci Code." But "Angels and Demons" was more intense cause everything took place so much faster. So I don't know... Now that I'm done with all the little books in my posession, I think I'll tackle the last one, which is like superbly thick. Its a memoir of Cleopatra so it should be good since I have interest in Egyptology.

Anyway, I spent most of yesterday reading and trying to learn how to use CSS in web building. Its really pretty spiffy, but I haven't finished how to use it completely yet.. still working on the tutorials... Dreameaver is a great programme...



Currently Reading
The Memoirs of Cleopatra: A Novel
By Margaret George
see related

Saturday, July 23, 2005

The One on Friday the 22nd

Yes, I know, I'm a freak... heat makes me sick really fast... but today was good. I felt alot better when I woke up. Work today was really problematic.. mostly because we were on the tail-end of some technological fiascos which included some people getting their card charged $8000 dollars... what kind of people have such high credit limits... I'm sure one day I'll have a credit limit that high... but for now, on my meager wages, its seems neigh impossible.

Remembering my Mum's recomendation, I watched "Hotel Rwanda." It was such a touching movie... Its rather sad though that Africa has such violence, and I think the lead guy in the movie (this was based on a true story after all) was superbly lucky to be able to save as many people as he can... considering that he "worked his way up," had powerful friends, and I thought he did really well for someone who had almost nothing in terms of wealth or affluence.

Anyway... turned in two more applications for part time jobs... tomorrow would be the last day for Abercrombie to call me and tell me whether I got the job or not. If I don't, then I might consider applying again. I don't know... I'll see how many rejections I can deal with. You'd think that being a theater major and wanting to be an actress would toughen my skin enough to handle rejections... but... alas... no... I am just way too sensative...

Oh... I also finished "1st to Die." The stupid thing I did was plough through the last third of the book till the weeeee hours in the morning... which meant that by the time I was done, I was afraid that there might be a murderer lurking around me...

Anyways... I'm really tired now, and I am so looking forward to sleeping in tmr morning... ta ta!!!



Currently Reading
Angels & Demons : Special Illustrated Collector's Edition
By Dan Brown
see related