Friday, September 09, 2005

The One on Friday the 9th

I got trained by another totally amazing trainer yesterday afternoon. Her name is Beth and she is the impact manager at the Provo store. Our store borrowed her for 2 weeks because we had to run updates and Ali(son) was on vacation. I didn't really get to talk to her the 1st day she was here. On the second day, she and Joe were walking through the store detailing so I was floor supervising, and when the kids were doing their thing and Joe and Beth were done, I asked her if she could explain some of the write ups for me. She also showed me visuals, and she gave me a ton of advise about how to keep the store in one piece. I didn't realise how CRAPPY our store looked until I was done talking to her. Now I want to cry cause I think it looks so bad. I close with Jenna tonight, and she is probably going to get the kids to fill. I think I'm going to have them work on detailing and I'll do a walk around the store for visuals.

OK, not that any of that had to make sense to you, I know I was using Hollister lingo there. But anyway, I kinda didn't really like Joe in the beginning, but now that I've closed with him for one night, I like him so much more. Now that I know Beth is the one who trained him, I can see where he gets his intensity from. I mean, he really knows a ton more than I do so I give him kudoes for that. And I know I spelt that wrong but that is a word I can only say, and not really spell.

The day before yesterday, Me and Tory went up to the University of Utah campus to go recruiting. It was the first time I had ever walked around their campus. It is FREAKIN HUGE!!!! I couldn't believe how big it is. I kinda felt bad for Tory cause I don't think I was very good company. I was too busy trying not to look like I was massively out of shape. And I was starving, so I was whining about food like every 5 mins. It wasn't the most successful thing to happen to us. I mean, the campus was dead cause it was almost 5pm. Also, most of the kids there are still going to school and the recruits we were looking for were ideally seniors in the last semester. So Tory approached one girl, and I approached another girl. And then we went to the career services office to inquire about their career fair.

(I just realised when I was done typing my enty that this section here is like a research paper, so feel free to gloss over it if you don't want to read my musings and dissectings of books )

Anyhow... "Mirror Mirror" is interesting. I'm starting to realise that the author always incorporates some political theme into his novels. Like in "Wicked" there was the politics in the land of Oz between the different rulers and the different races of people like the Quadlings and the Animals. In "Confessions," there was the politics between the wealthy merchant families, like Cinderella's father and the other wealthy merchants, and we can see how Iris' mother tried to play the right cards so that her family would be powerful. And now in "Mirror Mirror," again we see that there is the politics of the ruling classes of the land, and how Snow White (her name is Bianca for the beginning of the book) and her father were being manipulated by them.

The thing about the use of politics is that it is not subtle. It always seems to be a central motivation in the book. If you think about how these books are the same, and how they differ from the original fairy tales, it is really nicely woven in because the fairy tales do not have much of a political theme to it. There are the themes of love and hate, and then of magic that are interwoven to create timeless classics, yet almost all the characters in Macguire's novels seem to act because of the political forces around them. And still, we are talking about the same story.

There is still one more of Macguire's books that I have not read. "Son of Witch" comes out in October so I obviously haven't read it yet. But I haven't read "Lost" and I can't even fanthom which classic this is from so I'm a little leary about reading it, but I think when I'm done with "Mirror Mirror," I'll start reading that one cause I'm curious now...

OK, so that was my English Major coming out... MAN I MISS IT!!!!!

No comments: