Thursday, September 15, 2005

The One on Thursday the 15th

Yesterday was a disaster. When I got to Hollister, Tory was already there and he seemed to be really busy and since he was the one running around giving everyone projects, I assumed that he was floor supervising, not that there really was anyone to floor supervise since we only had 3 kids - 1 in each front room and 1 in the fitting room. Joe was helping Ali(son) redline stuff and so I helped with Register and I was folding stuff in the lounge too. There was also Orientation yesterday, which Tory took care off. But so here I am, minding the register and folding clothes, and then Tory leaves for Orientation, and I assumed he told Joe what was going on since Joe is of a slightly higher rank than me (we're both MITs, but Joe has been a brand rep before, and he also has been in the programme longer, which basically means that he is practically a manager already and is only MIT in name. He always claims that he is a MIT, but everyone treats him as a full fledged manager already). After Tory has been gone for like 15 mins, Joe turns to me and asks if I'm floor supervising, and I look at him weird and I said no, and then he said he's not cause he's redlining a stack of clothes. And so all of a sudden, I'm floor supervising. It is also 4.30pm and I have 3 kids who were suppose to be done at 4, and the 3 kids I was suppose to get at 3 did not show up. And this whole time, I thought Tory had it under control and so I'm freaking out. I went to track him down at Orientation and I asked him if he had called anyone, and he said he didn't, and he looked shocked when I told him the 3 o'clocks didn't come. And so now I had to run my butt back to the office and start calling everyone who was on-call. We had already told them that they didn't need to come, and so if they had appointments and stuff, we couldn't do anything about it. So I started just randomly calling kids from our associate listing to see if they could come into work. I got 2 kids to come in, and one said he would come later to help us close. I thought it was super sweet of them because they were not even scheduled and they came when we needed help.

Long story short, I'm pretty sure it wouldn't have been so stressful if I had been more on top of things. I mean, I could have started calling people earlier if I knew that we had no-shows. I guess it all boils down to me not assuming what is going on and actually getting the facts. I seem to floor supervise alot now, which is great... when I'm on top of things...

On a good note, my DM had talked to HR and basically what needs to happen for Hollister to apply a work visa for me is that the RM, which is my DM's boss, has to interview me, see what my intentions are, and then they are going to start applying for the visa for me. They were quick to tell me that it is not a gaurantee, but at least the process would have started. The DM and the RM would be travelling around the different stores in about 3 weeks, which means the interview us gonna be soon since time seems to be flying by so quickly lately. I don't want time to go so fast... don't want it to move at all...

No comments: